Most medication apps were built around something else first: a caregiver dashboard, a
drug database, a health diary, an ad business. Doz was built around one thing: getting
every prescription taken on time, privately, without an account. These pages put Doz side
by side with each of the main alternatives, feature by feature, with every claim about
the other app linked to its source.
Medication reminder apps compared
| App | Price | Account | Ads | Grouped by prescription | Running low | Rings on Silent |
| Doz | Free; Pro $19.99 once | No | No | Yes | Yes In-app | Pro Critical Alerts |
| Medisafe | $4.99/mo or $39.99/yr | Partly Optional | No ads; sponsored content | Not stated | Yes Push | Partly Option |
| MyTherapy | Free with ads; Plus $49.99 once | No Optional | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Apple Health | Free (built in) | No | No | No | No | Yes Critical Alerts |
| CareClinic | Free; paid from $1.99 | Yes | None listed | Not stated | Yes Push | Not stated |
| EveryDose | Free; Plus $9.99/mo | Sign-in used | None listed | Not stated | Paid Plus | Not stated |
| Drugs.com | Free with ads; Plus $8.99/mo | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Pill Reminder - All in One | Free; $2.99 once | No | No | Not stated | Yes Alert | Yes Critical Alerts |
| Max | Free with ads | Partly Optional | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Pill Buddy | Free; Supporter $4.99/mo | No | No | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Hero | From $29.99/mo, dispenser | Yes | Promotions | Not stated | Yes Push | Partly Dispenser |
“Pro” is Doz Pro. “Not stated” means the app does not say either way. Each app’s page has the detail behind every cell.
What Doz does differently
- Prescription first. Medications sit under the prescription they came from, with the doctor and course dates, instead of one long flat list. None of the other apps compared here documents this.
- Set up by typing the label. Type an instruction as written, such as “1 capsule twice daily for 7 days”, and Doz builds the schedule on your iPhone (English).
- No account, no ads, no tracking. Nothing to sign up for. Data stays on your iPhone and in your own iCloud if you turn sync on; the developer cannot see it.
- Rings on Silent. With Doz Pro, Critical Alerts break through Silent and Focus, the same way an emergency alert does.
- Meal-anchored doses. Before, with or after a meal, and with Doz Pro the doses move when your mealtimes do.
- Know when you are running low. A stock count and low-stock warning, free.
- Pay once. Doz Pro is $19.99 for life, or $9.99 a year. Most alternatives are subscription-only.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App Store
Apps that are no longer available
Two apps that still come up in older “best pill reminder” lists can no longer be installed on an iPhone in the US:
| App | Status |
| Round Health | Removed from the US App Store in 2026. Its last update was version 2.5.5 in December 2017. Last archived listing |
| Dosecast | Removed from the US App Store in 2026. Its last iOS update was version 11.6.6 in March 2023; the Android app remains. Last archived listing |
If you used one of them, setting up Doz is quick: type the instruction from the label (in English) and Doz builds the schedule.
Written by the Doz team. Every other app’s facts come from its own App Store listing,
website or help pages, each linked on its page, and were checked on October 4, 2026.
Spot something out of date? Email support.doz@gmail.com.