The short answer
Pill Buddy makes reminders cute. Doz makes your medications organised. Doz keeps a stock count and warns you before you run out, supports every-few-days and on/off cycle schedules, groups medications by prescription, anchors doses to meals, and syncs through iCloud to a new iPhone.
Both are ad-free. But a mascot cannot tell you a refill is due, and a July 2026 Pill Buddy review was still asking for pill counts. If you take more than a couple of medicines, or they are not every day, Doz is the one that keeps up.
Why choose Doz over Pill Buddy
- Running-low warnings. Doz counts as you log; Pill Buddy does not advertise pill counts or refills.
- Schedules beyond every day. Every 2 to 90 days, on/off cycles like 21/7, chosen weekdays and as needed. Pill Buddy documents custom days and times only.
- Discreet when you need it. Doz can hide medication names in notifications; a July 2026 review notes Pill Buddy's calls and notifications always show its name.
- Syncs to a new phone. Your private iCloud carries everything over; Pill Buddy does not document sync.
- Prescriptions and meals. Each prescription is one card with its medications, doctor and course dates, and doses can be set before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreDoz vs Pill Buddy at a glance
| Feature | Doz | Pill Buddy |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free. Doz Pro is $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once | Free; Pill Buddy Supporter is $4.99 a month or $35.90 a year |
| What the free version includes | Up to 4 medications and 1 prescription, reminders, stock count, every schedule type, 7 days of history | The developer calls it "fun & free"; what Supporter unlocks is not stated |
| Account needed | No No account or sign-up | No Data stays on your device, per its privacy policy |
| Ads | No No ads | No "No ads" |
| Where your data lives | On your iPhone, with optional sync through your own private iCloud. The developer cannot see it. Anonymous usage and crash data only | On your device, per its privacy policy. Health, usage and diagnostics collected, not linked to you; no tracking |
| Grouping by prescription | Yes Each prescription is one card holding its medications, doctor, clinic and course dates | Not stated |
| Set up from the label text | Yes Type the instruction as written, such as “1 capsule twice daily for 7 days”, and Doz builds the schedule on your iPhone (English) | Not stated |
| Meal-based timing | Yes Before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner. Auto-shift when meal times change is Pro | Not stated |
| Running-low warning | Yes Stock count with a low-stock warning in the app, at a level you set per medication. No push alert | Not stated |
| Reminders on a silenced iPhone | Pro Critical Alerts break through Silent and Focus | Not stated |
| Follow-up if a dose is not logged | Pro One follow-up nudge, 5 to 60 minutes later | Yes Escalating reminders, including an automated phone call option |
| Log a dose from the notification | Pro Take or Skip from the notification | Not stated |
| Hide medication names in notifications | Yes Free option | Not stated |
| Schedule types | Every day, chosen weekdays, every 2 to 90 days, on/off cycles such as 21/7, as needed. No every-N-hours interval | Custom days and times per medicine, and one-off doses; other schedule types not stated |
| Time zone changes | Doses keep their local clock time when you change time zone | Not stated |
| Siri | Yes Ask about schedule, stock and progress free; log, skip and refill by voice with Pro | Not stated |
| Apple Health | Pro Imports medications and dose history (iOS 26). Never writes to Health | Not stated |
| Widgets | Pro Home Screen and Lock Screen, with a Take button | Yes Including a Lock Screen widget |
| Works offline | Yes Fully | Not stated |
| Platforms | iPhone (iOS 17 or later) | iPhone (iOS 18.1 and later); also runs on Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision |
| Apple Watch app | No | No None listed |
| Caregiver or family sharing | No | Not stated |
| Drug interaction checks | No | Not stated |
| Reports or export for your doctor | No | Not stated |
“Pro” means the feature needs Doz Pro ($2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once). “Not stated” means Pill Buddy does not say either way in its own materials.
Price and privacy
| Doz | Pill Buddy | |
|---|---|---|
| Free version | Up to 4 medications, reminders, stock count, all schedule types | Free; the developer calls it "fun & free" |
| Paid | $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once | Supporter $4.99 a month or $35.90 a year |
| Ads | No | No |
| Where data lives | Your iPhone and your own iCloud | Your device, per its privacy policy |
| Sync between devices | Yes iCloud | Not stated |
Structure keeps working when motivation does not
Pill Buddy's reminders escalate the longer a dose goes unlogged, up to a phone call, and the guilt is part of the design; some reviewers find it wears thin.
Doz works from structure: doses grouped and timed the way the prescription was written, a follow-up nudge if one is missed and Critical Alerts that ring through Silent (both Doz Pro), and a stock count so the bottle never surprises you. That keeps working on the days you do not feel like it.
When Pill Buddy may suit you better
Motivation is the hard part, and a mascot that nags, celebrates streaks and phones you will help.
Frequently asked questions
Is Pill Buddy free?
Yes, Pill Buddy is free with no ads. An optional Pill Buddy Supporter subscription costs $4.99 a month or $35.90 a year; the developer does not list exactly what it unlocks. Doz is free for up to 4 medications, with Doz Pro at $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once.
Does Pill Buddy track how many pills I have left?
Pill Buddy does not advertise pill counts or refill reminders, and a July 2026 review asked for them. Doz keeps a stock count as you log doses and shows a low-stock warning at a level you set.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreSources
Written by the Doz team. Every Pill Buddy fact on this page comes from Pill Buddy’s own App Store listing, website or help pages, listed below, and was checked on October 4, 2026. Doz facts come from the Doz app itself. Prices and features change; if something is out of date, email support.doz@gmail.com and it will be corrected.
- Pill Buddy on the US App Store
- App Store lookup data (version 1.60)
- Pill Buddy website
- Pill Buddy: Privacy policy
- 9to5Mac on Pill Buddy (June 2025)
- Recent US App Store reviews