The short answer
Doz is the ad-free, private alternative to MyTherapy. MyTherapy's free app has shown ads since around December 2025, its privacy label lists identifiers used to track you, and it syncs your data to a company database in the EU. Doz has no ads in any version, no tracking, and keeps your medications on your iPhone and in your own iCloud.
Doz is also built for the medication side specifically: prescriptions grouped with their doctor and dates, meal-anchored doses, a stock count with a low-stock warning, and reminders that ring through Silent with Critical Alerts in Doz Pro, which MyTherapy does not document. MyTherapy spreads into a general health diary; if what you want is every dose taken on time, Doz is the sharper tool.
Why choose Doz over MyTherapy
- No ads, ever. Not in the free version and not as an upsell. MyTherapy's listing is marked Contains Advertising, and reviewers describe full-screen ads, including over its low-stock banners.
- Nothing tracks you. MyTherapy's privacy label lists identifiers used to track you, and its privacy policy names several ad networks. Doz's label lists only anonymous usage and crash data.
- Your data stays yours. MyTherapy sends your data to a central EU database when you are online. Doz keeps it on your iPhone and in your private iCloud.
- Rings through Silent. Doz Pro uses Critical Alerts, so a reminder is heard with the ringer off. MyTherapy does not mention Critical Alerts.
- Prescriptions and meals. Each prescription is one card with its medications, doctor and course dates, and doses can be set before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreDoz vs MyTherapy at a glance
| Feature | Doz | MyTherapy |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free. Doz Pro is $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once | Free with ads. Ad-free subscription listed at $0.99 and $9.99 (periods not stated); Plus lifetime $49.99 |
| What the free version includes | Up to 4 medications and 1 prescription, reminders, stock count, every schedule type, 7 days of history | Reminders and tracking appear free, with ads |
| Account needed | No No account or sign-up | No Optional; without one, data stays on one phone and cannot be restored |
| Ads | No No ads | Yes Including full-screen ads, per reviews; ad-free subscription available |
| Where your data lives | On your iPhone, with optional sync through your own private iCloud. The developer cannot see it. Anonymous usage and crash data only | Sent to a database in the EU (AWS) when online. Identifiers used to track you; health and other data collected, not linked to you |
| Grouping by prescription | Yes Each prescription is one card holding its medications, doctor, clinic and course dates | Not stated |
| Set up from the label text | Yes Type the instruction as written, such as “1 capsule twice daily for 7 days”, and Doz builds the schedule on your iPhone (English) | Partly Scans a printed medication plan |
| Meal-based timing | Yes Before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner. Auto-shift when meal times change is Pro | Not stated |
| Running-low warning | Yes Stock count with a low-stock warning in the app, at a level you set per medication. No push alert | Yes Low-stock reminder. Its App Store listing describes it as a notification; how it is delivered is not detailed |
| Reminders on a silenced iPhone | Pro Critical Alerts break through Silent and Focus | Not stated |
| Follow-up if a dose is not logged | Pro One follow-up nudge, 5 to 60 minutes later | Partly Several snooze options |
| Log a dose from the notification | Pro Take or Skip from the notification | Not stated |
| Hide medication names in notifications | Yes Free option | Not stated |
| Schedule types | Every day, chosen weekdays, every 2 to 90 days, on/off cycles such as 21/7, as needed. No every-N-hours interval | Not stated |
| Time zone changes | Doses keep their local clock time when you change time zone | Not stated |
| Siri | Yes Ask about schedule, stock and progress free; log, skip and refill by voice with Pro | Not stated |
| Apple Health | Pro Imports medications and dose history (iOS 26). Never writes to Health | Partly Reads weight, steps, water intake and more from Apple Health |
| Widgets | Pro Home Screen and Lock Screen, with a Take button | Not stated |
| Works offline | Yes Fully | Not stated |
| Platforms | iPhone (iOS 17 or later) | iPhone and iPad (iOS 17 and later) and Android |
| Apple Watch app | No | No None listed in the current version |
| Caregiver or family sharing | No | Partly Family profiles in one account; a one-time code shows your progress on a web dashboard for 45 minutes |
| Drug interaction checks | No | Not stated |
| Reports or export for your doctor | No | Yes Health reports; code-based sharing with a doctor |
“Pro” means the feature needs Doz Pro ($2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once). “Not stated” means MyTherapy does not say either way in its own materials.
Ads and price
MyTherapy's website still says the app always has been and always will remain free to use, and the core features do appear to be free. Since around December 2025, though, the free app carries advertising, and its App Store listing is marked "Contains Advertising". Its privacy policy names the ad networks used, including Google AdMob, Meta Audience Network and Unity Ads, and says no medical or health data is shared with them.
Removing the ads means a subscription, listed at $0.99 and $9.99 without the period stated, or MyTherapy Plus for $49.99 once. Doz has no ads in either version; Doz Pro is $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once.
Where your data goes
| Doz | MyTherapy | |
|---|---|---|
| Account | No None | No Optional |
| Storage | Your iPhone, plus your private iCloud if sync is on | Sent to a central database in the EU (AWS) when online |
| Tracking (privacy label) | None | Identifiers used to track you |
| Third-party services named | Anonymous analytics and crash reporting | Google Analytics, AppsFlyer, CleverTap, Crashlytics, Sentry, UXCam, ad networks, and OpenAI for its chatbot |
What people report
Recent US reviews from 2025 and 2026 mention reminders that arrive inconsistently, intrusive ads (including over low-stock banners), and crashes while editing dose times. The app was substantially rewritten in September 2026, so some of these may already be addressed.
When MyTherapy may suit you better
You want a broad health diary (measurements, symptoms, injection sites) alongside reminders, or you also use Android.
Frequently asked questions
Is MyTherapy free?
MyTherapy is free to download and its core features appear free, but since around December 2025 the free app shows ads. Removing them takes an ad-free subscription, listed at $0.99 and $9.99, or MyTherapy Plus for $49.99 once. Doz has no ads.
Does MyTherapy need an account?
No. MyTherapy can be used without an account, but then your data stays on one phone and cannot be restored if you lose it. When online, the app sends your data to a database in the EU. Doz needs no account and syncs only through your own iCloud.
Does MyTherapy have refill reminders?
MyTherapy's App Store listing promises low-stock notifications before your medication runs out. Doz keeps a stock count as you log doses and shows a low-stock warning at a level you set for each medication, in the free version.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreSources
Written by the Doz team. Every MyTherapy fact on this page comes from MyTherapy’s own App Store listing, website or help pages, listed below, and was checked on October 4, 2026. Doz facts come from the Doz app itself. Prices and features change; if something is out of date, email support.doz@gmail.com and it will be corrected.
- MyTherapy on the US App Store
- App Store lookup data (version 4.8.4)
- MyTherapy website
- MyTherapy: Privacy policy
- MyTherapy: Legal information
- Recent US App Store reviews