Doz ↔ CareClinic

Doz vs CareClinic

Checked October 4, 2026

The short answer

Doz is a medication reminder that does that one job properly; CareClinic is a general health tracker with medications as one module. Doz needs no account, keeps your data on your iPhone and in your own iCloud rather than on servers in Canada and the US, and has clear pricing: free for up to 4 medications, $19.99 once for everything.

Doz is organised around prescriptions, anchors doses to meals, keeps a stock count, and rings through Silent with Critical Alerts (Doz Pro), which CareClinic does not document. If you want your medications taken on time without signing up for anything, choose Doz.

Why choose Doz over CareClinic

Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.

Get Doz on the App Store

Doz vs CareClinic at a glance

FeatureDozCareClinic
PriceFree. Doz Pro is $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 onceFree download with in-app purchases from $1.99 to $139.99 (a lifetime upgrade). Plan durations are not stated on the listing
What the free version includesUp to 4 medications and 1 prescription, reminders, stock count, every schedule type, 7 days of historyCareClinic says most features are free; Premium adds advanced modules, insights and exports
Account neededNo No account or sign-upYes Required, for backup and sync
AdsNo No adsNo advertising listed on the App Store; no behavioural advertising per its privacy policy
Where your data livesOn your iPhone, with optional sync through your own private iCloud. The developer cannot see it. Anonymous usage and crash data onlyIn your CareClinic account, on servers in Canada and the US, encrypted. Health, email and crash data are linked to you
Grouping by prescriptionYes Each prescription is one card holding its medications, doctor, clinic and course datesNot stated
Set up from the label textYes Type the instruction as written, such as “1 capsule twice daily for 7 days”, and Doz builds the schedule on your iPhone (English)Yes Add a medication by photo or prescription scan
Meal-based timingYes Before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner. Auto-shift when meal times change is ProYes Doses can be linked to meals or sleep
Running-low warningYes Stock count with a low-stock warning in the app, at a level you set per medication. No push alertYes Refill tracking with a notification before the supply runs out
Reminders on a silenced iPhonePro Critical Alerts break through Silent and FocusNot stated
Follow-up if a dose is not loggedPro One follow-up nudge, 5 to 60 minutes laterPartly Snooze, and alerts to your care team when you miss doses
Log a dose from the notificationPro Take or Skip from the notificationNot stated
Hide medication names in notificationsYes Free optionNot stated
Schedule typesEvery day, chosen weekdays, every 2 to 90 days, on/off cycles such as 21/7, as needed. No every-N-hours intervalCustom times, cycles, as needed and tapering doses
Time zone changesDoses keep their local clock time when you change time zoneNot stated
SiriYes Ask about schedule, stock and progress free; log, skip and refill by voice with ProYes Siri and Shortcuts are listed; specific actions not stated
Apple HealthPro Imports medications and dose history (iOS 26). Never writes to HealthYes Syncs with Apple Health; can import clinical records
WidgetsPro Home Screen and Lock Screen, with a Take buttonYes Home Screen and Lock Screen
Works offlineYes FullyYes Most app features work offline; the web app does not
PlatformsiPhone (iOS 17 or later)iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Android and web
Apple Watch appNo Yes Check-ins and reminders on Apple Watch
Caregiver or family sharingNo Yes Dependent profiles and a shared care team with permissions; more members with Premium
Drug interaction checksNo Yes Drug and supplement interaction checks
Reports or export for your doctorNo Paid PDF and CSV reports for your care team

“Pro” means the feature needs Doz Pro ($2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once). “Not stated” means CareClinic does not say either way in its own materials.

Privacy and where your data lives

DozCareClinic
AccountNo NoneYes Required
StorageYour iPhone, plus your private iCloud if you turn sync onCareClinic's servers (AWS) in Canada and the US
Who can read itOnly you; the developer cannotStored in your account, encrypted in transit and at rest
App Store privacy labelUsage data and diagnostics, not linked to youHealth and fitness, email address and crash data, linked to you

A server account is how CareClinic offers a web app and a care team; the trade is that your health data leaves your device. Doz never holds your data on a server of its own, so there is nothing of yours there to be breached.

Pricing

Doz Pro costs $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once, and the free version keeps reminders, stock counting and every schedule type for up to 4 medications.

CareClinic's App Store listing shows in-app purchases with names such as "easy pass", "smart pass" and "lifetime upgrade", priced from $1.99 to $139.99, without saying what period each covers, and the company has no public pricing page. Check the price and the renewal period in the app before you subscribe; one recent App Store review describes being enrolled in a weekly plan during onboarding.

Medication features side by side

DozCareClinic
Refill warningYes In-app low-stock warningYes Notification before you run out
Interaction checksNo Yes
Tapering dosesNo Yes
Meal-linked dosesYes Auto-shift with ProYes
Grouped by prescriptionYes Not stated
Rings on SilentPro Critical AlertsNot stated

When CareClinic may suit you better

You want to track symptoms, vitals or mood alongside medications, or share a care team view with family.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need an account to use CareClinic?

Yes. CareClinic's own FAQ says an account is required so it can back up your data and sync it across devices. Doz needs no account at all.

Is CareClinic free?

CareClinic is a free download and says most features are free, with Premium unlocking advanced modules, insights and exports. Its App Store listing shows in-app purchases from $1.99 to $139.99 without stating their durations, so check the plan in the app before subscribing.

Is Doz simpler than CareClinic?

Yes. Doz is only about medications: add a prescription, get reminders, see what is running low. There is no account to create and no trackers to set up. CareClinic is a broader health tracker that requires an account.

Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.

Get Doz on the App Store

Sources

Written by the Doz team. Every CareClinic fact on this page comes from CareClinic’s own App Store listing, website or help pages, listed below, and was checked on October 4, 2026. Doz facts come from the Doz app itself. Prices and features change; if something is out of date, email support.doz@gmail.com and it will be corrected.

Other comparisons