Doz ↔ Hero

Doz vs Hero

Checked October 4, 2026

The short answer

For most people, Doz does the job of a smart dispenser for a fraction of the cost. Hero's app only works with a Hero membership and its dispenser, which costs $359.88 to $719.88 a year. Doz is free, or $19.99 once for everything, with no hardware, no Wi-Fi dependency and no contract.

Doz reminds you on time, follows up and rings through Silent (Doz Pro), counts your stock and keeps your data on your iPhone instead of in a company account. A dispenser is only worth its price when the person taking the medicines cannot reliably sort the right pills, or when a caregiver must be alerted about every missed dose. If that is not your situation, choose Doz.

Why choose Doz over Hero

Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.

Get Doz on the App Store

Doz vs Hero at a glance

FeatureDozHero
PriceFree. Doz Pro is $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 onceA Hero membership with the smart dispenser: $59.99 a month, $44.99 a month on a 1-year plan, or from $29.99 a month prepaid
What the free version includesUp to 4 medications and 1 prescription, reminders, stock count, every schedule type, 7 days of historyNo The app does not work without a subscription and a connected dispenser
Account neededNo No account or sign-upYes Required
AdsNo No adsNone flagged on the App Store; reviewers mention in-app promotions
Where your data livesOn your iPhone, with optional sync through your own private iCloud. The developer cannot see it. Anonymous usage and crash data onlyIn a Hero account in the cloud. Health, contact info, identifiers, usage and diagnostics linked to you
Grouping by prescriptionYes Each prescription is one card holding its medications, doctor, clinic and course datesNot stated
Set up from the label textYes Type the instruction as written, such as “1 capsule twice daily for 7 days”, and Doz builds the schedule on your iPhone (English)Not stated
Meal-based timingYes Before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner. Auto-shift when meal times change is ProNot stated
Running-low warningYes Stock count with a low-stock warning in the app, at a level you set per medication. No push alertYes Pill counts in the dispenser and low-supply alerts, typically at 7 days left
Reminders on a silenced iPhonePro Critical Alerts break through Silent and FocusPartly The dispenser beeps and lights up; a phone call or SMS can follow a late dose. Critical Alerts not stated
Follow-up if a dose is not loggedPro One follow-up nudge, 5 to 60 minutes laterYes Missed-dose alert after 15 minutes; optional phone call or SMS
Log a dose from the notificationPro Take or Skip from the notificationNot stated
Hide medication names in notificationsYes Free optionNot stated
Schedule typesEvery day, chosen weekdays, every 2 to 90 days, on/off cycles such as 21/7, as needed. No every-N-hours intervalEvery day or selected days; as needed with a daily maximum
Time zone changesDoses keep their local clock time when you change time zoneThe dispenser's time zone is set by hand; a travel mode keeps app reminders going
SiriYes Ask about schedule, stock and progress free; log, skip and refill by voice with ProNot stated
Apple HealthPro Imports medications and dose history (iOS 26). Never writes to HealthYes Apple Health sync (since August 2026)
WidgetsPro Home Screen and Lock Screen, with a Take buttonNot stated
Works offlineYes FullyPartly Without Wi-Fi the dispenser keeps dispensing for a limited time, with no reminders or tracking
PlatformsiPhone (iOS 17 or later)iPhone, Apple Watch and Android; the dispenser needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. US only
Apple Watch appNo Yes Listed as compatible (watchOS 7 and later)
Caregiver or family sharingNo Yes Caregivers get missed-dose, low-supply and offline alerts; included in the membership
Drug interaction checksNo Yes Drug interaction alerts (since November 2025)
Reports or export for your doctorNo Yes Downloadable medication report

“Pro” means the feature needs Doz Pro ($2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once). “Not stated” means Hero does not say either way in its own materials.

What it costs over a year

OptionMonthlyFirst year
Doz, free version$0$0
Doz Pro, lifetime—$19.99 once
Doz Pro, yearly—$9.99
Hero, prepaid annual$29.99$359.88
Hero, 1-year plan billed monthly$44.99$539.88
Hero, no commitment$59.99$719.88

Hero's own pages are not consistent about the prepaid price: the pricing FAQ says it starts at $29.99 a month, while a banner on the same page says $39.99. The dispenser cannot be bought outright and must be returned if you cancel. Hero is FSA and HSA eligible, and some Medicare patients can get it through partner practices for as little as $0, with check-ins required.

Caregiving

Hero's membership includes caregiver alerts for missed doses, low supply and the device going offline. Doz has no caregiver features; it is built for people managing their own medications. If you are helping a parent who can still manage a pill box, read helping an aging parent manage medications and the medication reminder for elderly page.

Reliability trade-offs

A dispenser adds things that can fail: it needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and without it there are no reminders or tracking, only dispensing for a limited time. Recent reviews from 2026 mention dispensing stopping after a few days offline, difficulty reaching a person to cancel, and charges for the remainder of a commitment. A phone app has fewer moving parts, but it also cannot hand anyone a pill.

When Hero may suit you better

The person taking the medicines cannot reliably sort the right pills, or a caregiver must be alerted about missed doses: a dispenser does things no phone app can.

Frequently asked questions

Can I use the Hero app without the dispenser?

No. Hero's App Store description says the app requires an active Hero subscription and a connected smart dispenser and does not work as a stand-alone application. Doz works on its own and is free to start.

How much does Hero cost?

Hero's self-pay memberships are $59.99 a month with no commitment, $44.99 a month on a 1-year plan, or from $29.99 a month prepaid for a year, including the dispenser. Some Medicare patients can get it through partner practices for as little as $0.

Is Doz a good alternative to Hero for an elderly parent?

If your parent can manage their own pill box and mainly needs dependable reminders, Doz works and costs far less. If they struggle to sort the right pills, or you need to be alerted when a dose is missed, a dispenser such as Hero does things a phone app cannot.

Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.

Get Doz on the App Store

Sources

Written by the Doz team. Every Hero fact on this page comes from Hero’s own App Store listing, website or help pages, listed below, and was checked on October 4, 2026. Doz facts come from the Doz app itself. Prices and features change; if something is out of date, email support.doz@gmail.com and it will be corrected.

Other comparisons