The short answer
Doz is the private, pay-once alternative to Medisafe. It needs no account, keeps your medications on your iPhone and in your own iCloud instead of a company server, shows no sponsored content, and unlocks everything for $19.99 once, or $9.99 a year against Medisafe Premium's $39.99.
It is also organised the way your doctor prescribes: each prescription is one card with its medications, doctor and course dates, doses can follow your meals, and you can type an instruction as written and let Doz build the schedule. Medisafe's main extra is Medfriend, which alerts a family member about a missed dose. If the medications are your own, Doz gives you more control for a fraction of the price.
Why choose Doz over Medisafe
- Pay once, or pay far less. Doz Pro is $19.99 for life or $9.99 a year. Medisafe Premium is $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year, and outside the US the app has required a subscription since January 2026.
- No account, no company server. Medisafe stores your data in its cloud and needs an account to keep your history when you change phones. Doz keeps it on your iPhone and in your own private iCloud, where the developer cannot read it.
- No sponsored content, no pharma programmes. Medisafe describes itself as a patient engagement platform for pharma, and its privacy label lists third-party advertising as a purpose. Doz has neither.
- Prescriptions and meals. Each prescription is one card with its medications, doctor and course dates, and doses can be set before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner.
- Follow-ups on your terms. With Doz Pro you choose when the nudge comes, from 5 to 60 minutes. Medisafe repeats every 10 minutes on iOS, and reviewers say the interval cannot be changed.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreDoz vs Medisafe at a glance
| Feature | Doz | Medisafe |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free. Doz Pro is $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once | Medisafe Premium is $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year in the US. Outside the US the app requires a subscription since January 2026 |
| What the free version includes | Up to 4 medications and 1 prescription, reminders, stock count, every schedule type, 7 days of history | US free-tier limits are not stated by Medisafe. Premium adds unlimited medications, Medfriends and dependents, trackers and Medtones |
| Account needed | No No account or sign-up | Partly Optional, but without one your history cannot move to a new phone. Medfriend needs accounts on both sides |
| Ads | No No ads | No ads, according to Medisafe. Its privacy label lists third-party advertising as a purpose, and reviewers describe sponsored condition content |
| Where your data lives | On your iPhone, with optional sync through your own private iCloud. The developer cannot see it. Anonymous usage and crash data only | In a Medisafe account in the cloud (AWS). Health, contact info, identifiers and usage data collected, not linked to you |
| Grouping by prescription | Yes Each prescription is one card holding its medications, doctor, clinic and course dates | Not stated |
| Set up from the label text | Yes Type the instruction as written, such as “1 capsule twice daily for 7 days”, and Doz builds the schedule on your iPhone (English) | Not stated |
| Meal-based timing | Yes Before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner. Auto-shift when meal times change is Pro | Not stated |
| Running-low warning | Yes Stock count with a low-stock warning in the app, at a level you set per medication. No push alert | Yes Refill reminder at a stock level you set, with your Rx number |
| Reminders on a silenced iPhone | Pro Critical Alerts break through Silent and Focus | Partly Offers a Critical Alerts option on iOS. Another Medisafe help article says reminders make no sound when the phone is muted |
| Follow-up if a dose is not logged | Pro One follow-up nudge, 5 to 60 minutes later | Yes Repeats every 10 minutes until you act (iOS default) |
| Log a dose from the notification | Pro Take or Skip from the notification | Partly Snooze from the notification; other actions not stated |
| Hide medication names in notifications | Yes Free option | Not stated |
| Schedule types | Every day, chosen weekdays, every 2 to 90 days, on/off cycles such as 21/7, as needed. No every-N-hours interval | Every day, days interval (every other day), take/break-day cycles, as needed |
| Time zone changes | Doses keep their local clock time when you change time zone | Time zone support; its help centre describes keeping times from the original time zone |
| Siri | Yes Ask about schedule, stock and progress free; log, skip and refill by voice with Pro | Not stated |
| Apple Health | Pro Imports medications and dose history (iOS 26). Never writes to Health | Partly Writes measurements such as glucose and blood pressure to Health; imports medications from US Health Records |
| Widgets | Pro Home Screen and Lock Screen, with a Take button | Yes Lock Screen widget |
| Works offline | Yes Fully | Not stated |
| Platforms | iPhone (iOS 17 or later) | iPhone (iOS 17 and later), Apple Watch, Apple Vision and Android |
| Apple Watch app | No | Yes Apple Watch app (watchOS 10 and later) |
| Caregiver or family sharing | No | Yes A Medfriend is told about a missed dose about an hour after its time. Dependent profiles too |
| Drug interaction checks | No | Yes For medications added from its database, with the app in English |
| Reports or export for your doctor | No | Yes PDF report by email, up to one year back |
“Pro” means the feature needs Doz Pro ($2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once). “Not stated” means Medisafe does not say either way in its own materials.
Price
| Plan | Doz | Medisafe |
|---|---|---|
| Free version | Up to 4 medications, reminders, stock count, all schedule types | US only; limits not stated by Medisafe. Paid-only elsewhere since January 2026 |
| Monthly | $2.99 | $4.99 |
| Yearly | $9.99 | $39.99 |
| One-time | $19.99 lifetime | Not offered |
Medisafe's App Store listing also shows other in-app prices ($2.99, $9.99, $29.95, $29.99), which are usually older or regional offers; its help centre states $4.99 and $39.99 as the price.
Privacy and accounts
| Doz | Medisafe | |
|---|---|---|
| Account | No None | Partly Optional; needed to keep history across phones and for Medfriend |
| Where data is stored | Your iPhone, plus your private iCloud if sync is on | Medisafe's cloud servers (AWS), in the US for non-US users too |
| Pharma programmes | None | Medisafe describes itself as a patient engagement platform for pharma; data is shared with programme sponsors only if you opt in |
| Privacy label purposes | Analytics and app functionality | Includes third-party advertising and developer marketing |
Medisafe's privacy policy says it will not sell personal information or use it for advertising. Its App Store privacy label nonetheless lists third-party advertising among the purposes for usage data. Both are linked under Sources so you can read them yourself.
What people report
Recent US App Store reviews from 2026 mention the Apple Watch app crashing after the late-summer update, doses marked as taken reappearing as missed, the fixed 10-minute repeat, a 30-day limit on the history screen, and frustration at the move to a paid app.
When Medisafe may suit you better
You need a family member alerted automatically when you miss a dose (Medfriend), or an Apple Watch app.
Frequently asked questions
Is Medisafe still free?
In the US, Medisafe still offers a free version alongside Premium at $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year, though Medisafe does not publish the free tier's limits. Outside the US, Medisafe has required a monthly or annual subscription since January 1, 2026.
What is the difference between Doz and Medisafe?
Medisafe adds caregiver alerts through Medfriend, an Apple Watch app, interaction warnings and health trackers, and stores your data in a Medisafe account. Doz needs no account, keeps data on your iPhone and in your iCloud, groups medications by prescription, times doses to meals and offers a one-time $19.99 Pro purchase.
Is Doz cheaper than Medisafe?
Yes. Doz is free for up to 4 medications, and Doz Pro costs $9.99 a year or $19.99 once for life. Medisafe Premium costs $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year, with no one-time option, and outside the US Medisafe requires a subscription.
Do I need an account to use Doz?
No. Doz has no account or sign-up, and your data stays on your iPhone and in your own private iCloud. Medisafe stores your data in its cloud and needs an account to keep your history when you change phones.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreSources
Written by the Doz team. Every Medisafe fact on this page comes from Medisafe’s own App Store listing, website or help pages, listed below, and was checked on October 4, 2026. Doz facts come from the Doz app itself. Prices and features change; if something is out of date, email support.doz@gmail.com and it will be corrected.
- Medisafe on the US App Store
- Medisafe: How much does Premium cost?
- Medisafe: Fully paid app outside the US
- Medisafe: How to save your data
- Medisafe: All about Medfriends
- Medisafe: Not receiving notifications (iOS, Critical Alerts)
- Medisafe: No sound when the device is silent
- Medisafe: Snooze interval
- Medisafe: Refill reminders
- Medisafe: Drug interactions
- Medisafe: Every other day
- Medisafe: Medication history report
- Medisafe: Privacy policy
- Recent US App Store reviews