The short answer
Drugs.com is where you look a medicine up. Doz is where you actually take it. The Drugs.com app is a drug reference with a medication list attached: it needs a Drugs.com account to save that list, shows ads unless you pay $8.99 a month, and its privacy label lists data used to track you.
Doz is built for the daily part: reminders that follow up and ring through Silent (Doz Pro), Take and Skip from the notification, a stock count with a low-stock warning, and medications grouped by prescription. No account, no ads, no tracking. Keep Drugs.com for lookups; let Doz handle the doses.
Why choose Doz over Drugs.com
- A reminder app, not a reference with reminders. Follow-ups, Critical Alerts and Take/Skip from the notification (Doz Pro), plus stock counting in the free version.
- No ads. The Drugs.com app is marked Contains Advertising; removing ads takes a paid plan from $8.99 a month.
- No account, no tracking. Drugs.com needs an account to save a list, and its privacy label lists contact info, identifiers and usage data used to track you. Doz has neither.
- Billed by Apple. Drugs.com plans are sold on its website, so cancelling goes through Drugs.com. Doz Pro is an Apple in-app purchase you manage in your Apple Account like any subscription.
- Prescriptions and meals. Each prescription is one card with its medications, doctor and course dates, and doses can be set before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreDoz vs Drugs.com at a glance
| Feature | Doz | Drugs.com |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free. Doz Pro is $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once | Free with ads. Plus is $8.99 a month or $90 a year, sold on the Drugs.com website |
| What the free version includes | Up to 4 medications and 1 prescription, reminders, stock count, every schedule type, 7 days of history | Drug information, interaction checker and one saved medication list, with ads |
| Account needed | No No account or sign-up | Yes Required to save a medication list |
| Ads | No No ads | Yes Removing ads needs a paid plan |
| Where your data lives | On your iPhone, with optional sync through your own private iCloud. The developer cannot see it. Anonymous usage and crash data only | Medication list stored in your Drugs.com account. Contact info, identifiers, usage and user content are used to track you; health data is linked to you |
| Grouping by prescription | Yes Each prescription is one card holding its medications, doctor, clinic and course dates | Not stated |
| Set up from the label text | Yes Type the instruction as written, such as “1 capsule twice daily for 7 days”, and Doz builds the schedule on your iPhone (English) | Not stated |
| Meal-based timing | Yes Before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner. Auto-shift when meal times change is Pro | Not stated |
| Running-low warning | Yes Stock count with a low-stock warning in the app, at a level you set per medication. No push alert | Not stated |
| Reminders on a silenced iPhone | Pro Critical Alerts break through Silent and Focus | Not stated |
| Follow-up if a dose is not logged | Pro One follow-up nudge, 5 to 60 minutes later | Not stated |
| Log a dose from the notification | Pro Take or Skip from the notification | Not stated |
| Hide medication names in notifications | Yes Free option | Not stated |
| Schedule types | Every day, chosen weekdays, every 2 to 90 days, on/off cycles such as 21/7, as needed. No every-N-hours interval | Not stated |
| Time zone changes | Doses keep their local clock time when you change time zone | Not stated |
| Siri | Yes Ask about schedule, stock and progress free; log, skip and refill by voice with Pro | Not stated |
| Apple Health | Pro Imports medications and dose history (iOS 26). Never writes to Health | Not stated |
| Widgets | Pro Home Screen and Lock Screen, with a Take button | Not stated |
| Works offline | Yes Fully | Partly My Med List works offline; drug information needs a connection |
| Platforms | iPhone (iOS 17 or later) | iPhone, iPad, Mac (Apple silicon), Apple Vision and Android |
| Apple Watch app | No | No None listed |
| Caregiver or family sharing | No | Paid Separate lists for family: 1 profile free, 5 with Plus, 25 with Pro |
| Drug interaction checks | No | Yes Its core feature: drugs, supplements, food and conditions. Advanced reports are paid |
| Reports or export for your doctor | No | Yes Printable medication records |
“Pro” means the feature needs Doz Pro ($2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once). “Not stated” means Drugs.com does not say either way in its own materials.
Privacy and ads
| Doz | Drugs.com | |
|---|---|---|
| Account | No None | Yes Needed to save a med list |
| Ads | No | Yes Unless you pay |
| Data used to track you (privacy label) | None | Contact info, user content, identifiers, usage data |
| Data linked to you (privacy label) | None | Health, contact info, user content, identifiers, usage data |
| Where your list is stored | Your iPhone and your own iCloud | Your Drugs.com account |
How paying works
The Drugs.com app has no in-app purchases on the App Store. Plans are bought on the Drugs.com website: Plus at $8.99 a month or $90 a year (with a 7-day trial) removes ads and adds more lists, and Pro at $40 a month is aimed at caregivers with up to 25 profiles. Because billing is not through Apple, cancelling is done through Drugs.com, not your Apple Account settings.
Doz Pro is an in-app purchase billed by Apple, at $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once, and is cancelled in your Apple Account like any other subscription.
Use them together
These two overlap less than most pairs on this site. If you are adding a new medicine, an interaction check on Drugs.com, or better still a question to your pharmacist, is the right first step. Doz then handles the daily part. Doz has no interaction checker, and nothing in it should be read as advice about whether two medicines are safe together.
When Drugs.com may suit you better
You need an interaction checker or a drug reference. Doz has none; use Drugs.com alongside Doz, and ask your pharmacist.
Frequently asked questions
Does the Drugs.com app have pill reminders?
Yes. Its My Med List feature includes reminders and alerts alongside your medication list and interaction checks. Saving a list needs a Drugs.com account, and the app is primarily a drug reference rather than a dedicated reminder app.
Is the Drugs.com app free?
Yes, with ads and one saved medication list. Plans are sold on the Drugs.com website: Plus is $8.99 a month or $90 a year and removes ads, and Pro is $40 a month with up to 25 profiles.
Can I use Drugs.com and Doz together?
Yes, and many people should. Check a new medicine's interactions on Drugs.com or with your pharmacist, then let Doz handle the daily part: reminders, follow-ups and your stock count, with no account and no ads. Doz itself has no interaction checker.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreSources
Written by the Doz team. Every Drugs.com fact on this page comes from Drugs.com’s own App Store listing, website or help pages, listed below, and was checked on October 4, 2026. Doz facts come from the Doz app itself. Prices and features change; if something is out of date, email support.doz@gmail.com and it will be corrected.
- Drugs.com Medication Guide on the US App Store
- Drugs.com: Apps
- Drugs.com: My Med List
- Drugs.com: Plans and pricing
- Drugs.com: Privacy policy
- Drugs.com: App privacy policy