The short answer
Doz is the ad-free, private alternative to Max. Max is free with ads, its privacy label lists identifiers used to track you, and recent reviews describe ads slowing down checking off a dose. Doz has no ads and no tracking, and needs no account.
Doz also does the practical work Max does not advertise: a stock count with a low-stock warning, medications grouped by prescription, meal-anchored doses, and Critical Alerts that ring through Silent (Doz Pro). Max is playful; Doz is built to keep you on schedule.
Why choose Doz over Max
- No ads. Max's listing is marked Contains Advertising, and a July 2026 review describes ads that looked like scams.
- No tracking. Max's privacy label lists identifiers used to track you and names AdMob and Google Analytics. Doz's label lists only anonymous usage and crash data.
- Know when you are running low. Doz counts stock and warns you; Max does not advertise refill tracking.
- Rings through Silent. Critical Alerts with Doz Pro; Max does not mention them.
- Prescriptions and meals. Each prescription is one card with its medications, doctor and course dates, and doses can be set before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreDoz vs Max at a glance
| Feature | Doz | Max |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free. Doz Pro is $2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once | Free with ads. The listing shows no in-app purchases, though a September 2026 review describes a premium upgrade needed to add medications |
| What the free version includes | Up to 4 medications and 1 prescription, reminders, stock count, every schedule type, 7 days of history | Not stated |
| Account needed | No No account or sign-up | Partly Sign in with Apple or Google to back up; appears optional |
| Ads | No No ads | Yes Contains advertising |
| Where your data lives | On your iPhone, with optional sync through your own private iCloud. The developer cannot see it. Anonymous usage and crash data only | Identifiers used to track you; health, contact info, usage and diagnostics collected, not linked to you |
| Grouping by prescription | Yes Each prescription is one card holding its medications, doctor, clinic and course dates | Not stated |
| Set up from the label text | Yes Type the instruction as written, such as “1 capsule twice daily for 7 days”, and Doz builds the schedule on your iPhone (English) | Not stated |
| Meal-based timing | Yes Before, with or after breakfast, lunch or dinner. Auto-shift when meal times change is Pro | Not stated |
| Running-low warning | Yes Stock count with a low-stock warning in the app, at a level you set per medication. No push alert | Not stated |
| Reminders on a silenced iPhone | Pro Critical Alerts break through Silent and Focus | Not stated |
| Follow-up if a dose is not logged | Pro One follow-up nudge, 5 to 60 minutes later | Yes A call-style ring if a reminder gets no response (not a real call) |
| Log a dose from the notification | Pro Take or Skip from the notification | Not stated |
| Hide medication names in notifications | Yes Free option | Not stated |
| Schedule types | Every day, chosen weekdays, every 2 to 90 days, on/off cycles such as 21/7, as needed. No every-N-hours interval | Daily, specific days, intervals, as needed; end dates |
| Time zone changes | Doses keep their local clock time when you change time zone | Daylight saving handled automatically; behaviour when travelling not stated |
| Siri | Yes Ask about schedule, stock and progress free; log, skip and refill by voice with Pro | Not stated |
| Apple Health | Pro Imports medications and dose history (iOS 26). Never writes to Health | Not stated |
| Widgets | Pro Home Screen and Lock Screen, with a Take button | Not stated |
| Works offline | Yes Fully | Not stated |
| Platforms | iPhone (iOS 17 or later) | iPhone (iOS 15 and later); also runs on Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision |
| Apple Watch app | No | No None listed |
| Caregiver or family sharing | No | Yes Share & Care: invite family to see your medication status (since January 2026) |
| Drug interaction checks | No | Not stated |
| Reports or export for your doctor | No | Stats and calendar history in the app; export not stated |
“Pro” means the feature needs Doz Pro ($2.99 a month, $9.99 a year or $19.99 once). “Not stated” means Max does not say either way in its own materials.
Ads and privacy
| Doz | Max | |
|---|---|---|
| Ads | No | Yes Contains advertising |
| Data used to track you (privacy label) | None | Identifiers |
| Account | No None | Partly Sign in with Apple or Google to back up |
| Third-party services named | Anonymous analytics and crash reporting | AdMob, Google Analytics, Firebase |
Recent reviews mention ads that slow down checking off a dose, and one from July 2026 describes ads that looked like scams. For an app you open several times a day, that is worth weighing.
What people report
Reviews from mid-2026 mention the app freezing on a white or loading screen, logged doses disappearing, sharing not syncing between two phones, and a new paywall for adding medications. Artify's own release notes for version 3.1.7 (July 2026) say it fixed an issue where a reminder might not ring while the screen was locked.
When Max may suit you better
You want a cartoon character and family members able to see your doses (Share & Care), and do not mind ads.
Frequently asked questions
Is Max - Pill reminder free?
Max is free to download and shows ads. Its App Store listing shows no in-app purchases, but a September 2026 review describes needing a premium upgrade to add a new medication, so check in the app. Doz has no ads; Doz Pro is optional.
Does Max have ads?
Yes. Max's App Store listing is marked Contains Advertising, and its privacy label lists identifiers used to track you. Doz has no ads and no tracking in any version.
Try Doz free. No account, no ads. Up to 4 medications free; Doz Pro is $19.99 once or $9.99 a year.
Get Doz on the App StoreSources
Written by the Doz team. Every Max fact on this page comes from Max’s own App Store listing, website or help pages, listed below, and was checked on October 4, 2026. Doz facts come from the Doz app itself. Prices and features change; if something is out of date, email support.doz@gmail.com and it will be corrected.
- Max - Pill reminder on the US App Store
- App Store lookup data (version 3.1.7)
- Artify
- Artify: Privacy policy
- Recent US App Store reviews